A Look At The 5 Unbeaten League Winners In T-10 European Leagues In 21st Century

Xabi Alonso’s Bayer Leverkusen are on the brink of history. Playing 27 games in the Bundesliga, Leverkusen have not been bested even once, winning 23 matches and drawing four. With 73 points on the board, Leverkusen are sitting 13 points clear of second-placed Bayern Munich, meaning they only need to win their next three matches to claim their first-ever Bundesliga title.

The Bundesliga is not the only competition Leverkusen have proven their invincibility in. They are also on an unbeaten run in the UEFA Europa League and DFB Pokal, going 39 games without defeat in the 2023-24 season. If Leverkusen win both cup competitions as well as the league title, they will become the first team in the top-five European leagues to conquer every competition they have entered.

Winning the league unbeaten will also place them in the esteemed company of a handful of teams across the top 10 European leagues who have proven their invincibility in the 21st century. Continue reading to meet the only five teams that have won the title without losing a single game and check out their unbeaten campaigns.

#5 Arsenal (Premier League): 2003-04

Arsenal’s Invincibles of 2003-04

Arsenal are the only team in history to remain unbeaten throughout the grueling Premier League campaign. They achieved the seemingly unachievable under the great Arsene Wenger in the 2003-04 season. The Gunners have not won another Premier League title since being crowned “The Invincibles”.

Arsenal won 26 and drew 12 games in the 2003-04 season, amassing a total of 90 points and winning the title 11 points clear of second-placed Chelsea. They not only scored the most number of goals (73) throughout the campaign but also let in the fewest (26), finishing with an impressive goal difference of 47. The great Thierry Henry emerged as the top scorer that season, bagging 30 goals to win the Premier League Golden Boot.

#4 Juventus (Serie A): 2011-22

Juventus Serie A Winners 2011-12

Juventus are not only…

Source link : https://sportslens.com/news/unbeaten-league-winners-across-top-10-european-divisions-in-the-21st-century-arsenal-are-the-only-unbeaten-premier-league-team-in-history/

Author : Sushan Chakraborty

Publish date : 2024-04-03 06:09:35

Copyright for syndicated content belongs to the linked Source.