Barcelona forward suspended for Granada game as appeal to overturn second yellow card rejected

In what comes as a blow, Barcelona’s appeal to overturn the second yellow card handed to Vitor Roque during the game against Deportivo Alaves has been overturned, reports Adria Albets.

As such, the 18-year-old striker will be suspended for one match and miss the upcoming La Liga clash against Granada this weekend.

What happened?

Roque came on as a substitute for Barcelona against Alaves this past weekend. Minutes after coming on, he was on the scoresheet to make it 3-1 in favour of his team. It was his second goal in two matches.

However, soon after, the 18-year-old was shown his first yellow card of the game as he accidentally elbowed Alaves’ Nahuel Tenaglia in the face.

Things turned worse for Roque in the 72nd minute as referee Martinez Munuera showed him a second yellow card and sent him off for a foul on Rafa Marin, even though it only appeared as the 18-year-old had slightly brushed the defender’s foot.

Barcelona’s appeal shot down

Speaking after the game, Barcelona manager Xavi had expressed his displeasure at Roque’s sending-off and had confirmed that the club would lodge an appeal to try and get it overturned.

The same message was conveyed by club sporting director Deco in a recent interview as well and as stated, Barça went forward with the appeal.

Although Munuera Martínez wrote in his official report that Roque’s tackle “was reckless”, the club’s legal services based their defence on trying to prove that the Brazilian did not touch the opponent, but he was the one who suffered the tackle and tried to lift his leg to avoid being injured.

However, Barcelona’s appeal has now been rejected by the Competitions Committee, who have upheld the second yellow card shown to Roque.

As such, he will now remain suspended for the match against Granada at the weekend, leaving Xavi with Robert Lewandowski as the only fit striker for the match.

Source link :

Author : Michel Durant

Publish date : 2024-02-07 10:52:54

Copyright for syndicated content belongs to the linked Source.